Louisiana Driver's License, Identification Cards & Handicap Hang Tags
Can I renew my DL or ID if it is expired?
How much does it cost?
Fees vary depending on age, expiration, and endorsements. There is a $15 late fee if expired for more than 10 days. No late fee on IDs.
Can I change my address on my DL/ID?
Yes. You MUST bring proof of residency in order to change your address.
Can I renew, change my address, or downgrade my CDL?
No. At this time, anything pertaining to a CDL must go to a field location.
I lost my DL/ID. Can you issue me a duplicate?
Yes. You will need to know your Social Security Number to verify previous pictures and identity.
Do I have to take another picture?
Yes. We cannot use your previous picture. PLEASE NOTE: You will have to take off hats, sunglasses, head accessories (except for religious or medical reasons).
Do I need to bring anything?
You will need proof of auto insurance if you own a vehicle. You will be required to pass an eye exam for DL issuance, including duplicates.
Can you issue a first time DL?
No. Initial issuance including a learner's permit must be obtained from a field location.
Can you issue a first time ID card?
If you have a Louisiana DL, then we can issue a first time ID card. If you have never had Louisiana identification then you would have to go to a field location for initial issuance.
Can you convert a permit into a driver's license?
Yes, pending you have the following criteria; -Certificate of successful completion from an approved Driver's Education School (Must be in a sealed/unopened envelope). -Birth Certificate -Social Security Card (if available to you), -if under 18, a Certificate of Required School Attendance indicating enrollment or high school diploma -Parent listed on birth certificate must be present with their DL or ID (If under 18). Custody documents showing domiciliary parent must be presented if parents are divorced.
I just moved to Louisiana. Can you change my out of state license to Louisiana?
No. You must go to a field location for issuance. PLEASE NOTE: If your most recent DL is out of state (even if you have had a Louisiana DL before), you will still have to go to a field location.
Can you issue the new REAL ID compliant DL/ID cards?
No. Not at this time. Please click HERE for more information pertaining the REAL ID.
Can you issue a new handicap hang tag?
Yes. New issuance requires Certification of Mobility Impairment completed and signed by Physician and your Driver's License/State ID Card for proof of identity. Please click HERE for the form. PLEASE NOTE: Form must be signed within 60 days of coming to our office for issuance. Insurance not required for hang tags.
Can you issue a hardship DL?
No. You must go to a field location.
Can I pay a ticket or fine?
With the exception of a "NO INSURANCE" flag, tickets, suspensions, notice of violations and/or fines must be paid at a field location.
Can I pay a flag for no insurance?
Yes. Our office can clear flags for no insurance with the exception of a notice of violation (green ticket). For your Reinstatement Status, click HERE.